Photo by Church of the King on Unsplash

Too many children could not go to school in 2020 because of the pandemic. This is the reason why just over 100 million children in grades 2020 to 2024 fell below the minimum reading level in XNUMX. Exceptional efforts are needed to bring the reading level back up by now. XNUMX.

Progress in terms of education is still far from the objectives. The objective set by the Sustainable Development Goals for 2030 is that 100% of girls and boys achieve a minimum level of reading and mathematics. Today, this rate is only 59%. Many barriers still stand in the education of children (especially girls) and the means are not up to the objectives.

Developing countries lack adequate educational infrastructure for their younger generation. 44% of schools do not have access to drinking water, 67% to electricity and 60% to a hand washing facility. These gaps prevent children from receiving a quality education.

  • Progress made in education during for the last 20 years have been completely wiped out by the pandemic.
  • Only 59% of children third-graders are able to read. Far from the 100% objective set for 2030 by the Sustainable Development Goals.
  • More than half of the countries still have lower completion rates for girls.

Source: UN Stats, The Sustainable Development Goals Report 2021

AN ACTION OF A GLASS OF WATER

Un Verre d'Eau is currently supporting Tahaddi's action through the campaign "Let's offer respite and hope to the Lebanese!" ". It is a social and medical educational center in the heart of an extremely poor slum in Beirut, Lebanon. Tahaddi's vision is to be a place where young people will acquire the skills and values ​​necessary to overcome poverty and integrate socially.

These young people have not been able to enter school at the required age, often for economic reasons, or do not have the necessary skills to enter a public school program that is sometimes too demanding for disadvantaged children. Tahaddi also welcomes young people who left school very early. READ MORE

Tahaddi programs

  • Educational program : The educational center welcomes children who have not attended school or who have dropped out of school, coming from a very poor background and who cannot go to public school. Since 2012, Tahaddi has also been welcoming children displaced from Syria.
  • Vocational training : After at least 5 years full-time in the Tahaddi program, the young people are oriented towards vocational training. Learning a trade is the best way out of poverty.
  • Homework assistance program : The official Lebanese program is particularly difficult for children in the neighborhood who cannot be helped by their parents and thus lack the support necessary to succeed.
  • Literacy program : Tahaddi is open to older children as well as parents who want to learn to read and write. This literacy program is offered daily.

« L’éducation est l’arme la plus puissante qu’on puisse utiliser pour changer le monde. »
Nelson Mandela

Photo by Church of the King on Unsplash

Trop d’enfants n’ont pas pu aller à l’école en 2020 à cause de la pandémie. C’est la raison pour laquelle un peu plus de 100 millions d’enfants de la première à la huitième année sont passés sous le niveau minimum de lecture en 2020. Des efforts exceptionnels sont nécessaires pour que le niveau de lecture soit récupéré d’ici 2024.

Les progrès en terme d’éducation sont encore bien loin des objectifs. L’objectif fixé par les Objectifs de Développement Durable pour 2030 est que 100 % des filles et des garçons atteignent un niveau minimum de lecture et de mathématiques. Aujourd’hui, ce taux n’est que de 59 %. De nombreuses barrières se dressent encore à l’éducation des enfants (surtout des filles) et les moyens ne sont pas à la hauteur des objectifs.

Les pays en voie de développement manquent d’infrastructures scolaires appropriées pour leur jeune génération. 44 % des écoles n’ont pas accès à l’eau potable, 67 % à l’électricité et 60 % à une installation de lavage de mains. Ces manques empêchent les enfants de recevoir une éducation de qualité.

  • Les progrès réalisés en matière d’éducation au cours des 20 dernières années ont été complètement effacés par la pandémie.
  • Seul 59% des enfants de troisième année sont capables de lire. Bien loin de l’objectif de 100 % fixé pour 2030 par les Objectifs de Développement Durable.
  • Plus de la moitié des pays affichent encore des taux d’achèvement plus faibles pour les filles.

Source : UN Stats, The Sustainable Development Goals Report 2021

UNE ACTION D’UN VERRE D’EAU

Un Verre d’Eau soutient en ce moment l’action de Tahaddi à travers la campagne « Offrons un répit et un espoir aux libanais ! ». C’est un centre éducatif social et médical en plein cœur d’un bidonville extrêmement pauvre de Beyrouth au Liban. La vision de Tahaddi est d’être un lieu où les jeunes acquerront des compétences et les valeurs nécessaires pour sortir de la pauvreté et s’intégrer socialement.

Ces jeunes n’ont pas pu entrer à l’école à l’âge requis, souvent pour des raisons économiques, ou n’ont pas les compétences nécessaires pour entrer dans un programme scolaire public parfois trop exigeant pour des enfants défavorisés. Tahaddi accueille également des jeunes qui ont quitté très tôt les bancs de l’école. EN SAVOIR PLUS

Programmes de Tahaddi

  • Programme éducatif : Le centre éducatif accueille des enfants non scolarisés ou déscolarisés, venant d’un milieu très pauvre et qui ne peuvent pas rentrer à l’école publique. Depuis 2012, Tahaddi accueille également des enfants déplacés de Syrie.
  • Formation professionnelle : Après au moins 5 ans à temps plein dans le programme de Tahaddi, les jeunes sont orientés vers une formation professionnelle. L’apprentissage d’un métier est le meilleur moyen de sortir de la pauvreté.
  • Programme d’aide aux devoirs : Le programme officiel libanais est particulièrement difficile pour les enfants du quartier qui ne peuvent être aidés par leurs parents et ainsi manquent du soutien nécessaire pour réussir.
  • Programme d’alphabétisation : Tahaddi est ouvert aux enfants plus âgés ainsi qu’aux parents désireux d’apprendre à lire et à écrire. Ce programme d’alphabétisation est offert tous les jours.